Posted in Stories and Poems

To miss you…

When someone leaves you, it doesn’t hit you the way you would expect.

For instance, it doesn’t hit you when you find yourself sleeping alone for the first time in days. It hits you when you realize that you’ve started to feel familiar with the way you close your eyes to pretend that the room isn’t dark and hold on to your blanket as if you need to know someone is there. 

It doesn’t hit you when you realize that you have to clean your room on your own now that they’re gone. It hits you when you realize that you’ve been doing it for so long now that it feels like the new normal.

It doesn’t hit you when you see that the room is devoid of their smiling face. It hits you when you realize that something just feels off in a way you can’t put your finger on.

It doesn’t hit you when you wonder if you’re ever going to have late-night talks with them again. It hits you when you realize that the miserable quiet of the night seems almost sweet in a painful way.

It doesn’t hit you when you talk to them after days and realize how ordinary it feels. It hits you when you realize that you don’t want to talk to them at all because it’s so much easier not to think about them.

Missing someone doesn’t come all of sudden. It comes slowly. Like the bittersweet transition of summer into autumn. It comes to you just when you think you had learned how to live without that person.

Until you realize that you can’t.

~Nehal


I think this is fiction, yeah 😗. Hope you enjoyed it!

Author:

Welcome to my site where I talk about all things bookish and from time to time, put my writing skills to test.

44 thoughts on “To miss you…

  1. Missing someone doesn’t come all of sudden. It comes slowly. Like the bittersweet transition of summer into autumn. It comes to you just when you think you had learned how to live without that person.
    NEHAL WHY this HIT me right in the feels(did u see what I did there) but seriously this was painfully beautiful

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree to this.
    You probably don’t even realise the person is gone..that feeling is there but kinda numb..and then it just hits you like a rock
    This was sooo deep and beautiful!

    (Sorry, I don’t have my vocabulary intact after the exam🙂)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, indeed! You feel like you’re until that person enters your mind again.
      Thanks so much, AK17!!
      How was thine exam, my kind-hearted, good friend, in whose soul lies the roman spirit…?🙂

      If you can’t tell already, I’ve studied too much Shakespeare.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Not to be dramatic, but I… do not know what to say.
    Honestly, every single time I read your poems I say i loved them, and I honestly do, but this…. THIS WAS AMAZING, AND I LOVED IT SO, SO, SO, SO MUCH *on repeat for an eternity*, and just 🥺🥺🥺😭 I LOVED THIS

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment