Posted in Book Tags, Book Tags and Challenges, Bookish Stuff

The Never Have I Ever Book Tag

It’s time to find out how many of the weird reader things have I actually done. Today, I am doing The Never Have I Ever Book Tag.

I was tagged by the lovely Cherelle @ cherelle the bibliophile. Thanks a lot Cherelle for tagging me. She has a wonderful site with super interesting bookish posts you should not miss out. Go give it a visit.


The Rules:

  • Link back to original creator:  Madame Writer.
  • Link back to the person who tagged you or the blog where you first saw this tag.
  • Answer all prompts.
  • Add one more prompt of your own.
  • Tag at least 5 people.
  • Don’t lie.
  • Have fun!

Never Have I Ever…read a later book in a series before reading the first book

I have! I have read several of Enid Blyton’s book series all out of order. Like The Famous Five, The Secret Seven and The Naughtiest Girl. So is the case with the Wimpy Kid books by Jeff Kinney. With these series, I always used to read whichever book was available to me without caring about the order These books don’t actually require to be read chronologically. Though these events occur sequentially I can still read the books without being spoiled for the other ones that come before them.


Never Have I Ever…burned a book

Thee dareth doth such a crime on thy books 😱!?


Never Have I Ever…read a book I knew I would hate

I have (super reluctantly) read Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. I had always wanted to read this series but I thought I should wait. And when I finally felt it’s time, I just couldn’t bring myself to because: a) I knew practically the whole story, b) I didn’t like the concept, and c) I had a feeling that I wouldn’t like it. I read it, didn’t like it, dnfed it, end of story! 


Never Have I Ever…wrote a fanfiction about my favorite books

I have never written a fanfiction but I have several times created some in my mind. I just take certain characters and imagine stories about them. Oh, and what stories they are 🤭! 


Never Have I Ever…loved a book when I was young and hated it when I got older

I have never felt that way. My liking towards a book might have decreased but I have never actually hated something that I used to enjoy.


Never Have I Ever…dressed up as one of my favorite literary characters

I have never done that 😭! Why!!??


Never Have I Ever…hated a book by an author I love

Yeah, I have! But I didn’t exactly hate it, because that it is a really strong emotion. I just disliked it: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan.

I went into this book with very high expectations but much as I wanted to enjoy it, I could not like it and I felt bored throughout the whole story. I still haven’t continued with the rest of the series because I just don’t feel like I will enjoy it that much but I still think that there is a possibility I could still give the rest of the books a try.


Never Have I Ever…gone into a bookstore to buy one book and come out with many more

I’ll tell you guys the truth then.

I seriously don’t want to answer this one because this is the most unpopular and I don’t want anyone questioning me as a reader. But frankly, I haven’t done that.

The thing is that I rarely go to bookstores and most of the books I buy are all online or I read them through an app name Storytel or I sometimes even download the PDFs of books from Google so I don’t exactly go to bookstores to buy books. I also have my school library which has always been of great help so such an instance never occurred with me.


Never Have I Ever…read the end of a book before reading the beginning

Ahh, yes I have, it’s so fun

I have indeed spoiled myself by looking at the last pages of books without finishing them. At times, I just can’t resist the urge to know what’ll happen later so I flip several pages. I am definitely guilty here.


Never Have I Ever…read a book without the dust cover

I have done that. When the dust jacket of a book is really annoying me, causing me trouble in holding it, I remove it.


Never Have I Ever…skim read nearly half a book

Of course, I have! I have done that to quite a few books because I just don’t get the point of reading anything I don’t like. I really love to skim read books, I can easily skip several paragraphs (and at times pages) to get to the interesting part.


My Question: Never Have I Ever…spoiled a book for someone.

I most certainly have! Ahh, the vindictive pleasure that comes because of the indignant look on someone’s face after spoiling them for a book can not be attained any other way. It’s just so… fun!!


My score: I’ve done 7/12 of these things. Not bad, huh 😉?


I Tag:

To all the wonderful people that I have tagged, including you, there is no pressure in doing the tag if you don’t want to. And do check out these lovely people because they have awesome sites.


That’s it. Did you like my post? Let me know if you have ever read the ending of a book before the beginning in the comments.

Thanks for reading. Stay safe. Ciao!!

Author:

Welcome to my site where I talk about all things bookish and from time to time, put my writing skills to test.

97 thoughts on “The Never Have I Ever Book Tag

  1. Congratulations on the nomination! 🎊🎊🎉🎉
    And thanks so much for tagging us! I loved reading your answers!
    Will answer it as soon as i can!

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Oh yeah! When answering the first question I totally forgot about The Fanous Five and Enid Blyton’s many other books. 😆

    You spoiled a book for someone??!!! What??!! 😂😱 Which book was that? (As shocked as I am, I loved your edition!)

    Thanks for doing the tag, you had really fun answers. 😁❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, you can update now 😁
      🤣🤣 yeah, i sure did 🤣🤣
      Any book really, Twilight, Percy Jackson 😂 those friends of kept spoiling books for me and I learned just how great that art is 🤣🤣
      Thank u so much Cherelle 😍 it really means a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve actually never read the ending of a book first – that would ruin all the suspense for me! I have totally read series out of order though 😁 I think Enid Blyton’s books also fall under that category for me 😉
    And I’m so glad I wasn’t the only one who felt underwhelmed by The Hidden Oracle! I feel like Rick Riordan’s later books recycle old plotlines more and more, so they fail to engage me like his earlier ones did… Please don’t hate me 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, glad you can relate 😀.
      Yeah, I have spoiled myself for the ending several times but never actually read it BEFORE the beginning. Yeah, I totally agree. J get so fed up reading the same concept again and again in his books, even though he’s like one of my fav authors 😁.
      Thanks for reading 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Omg, what a fun challenge! There are so many things I relate to too, like removing the book jacket when it starts getting annoying! 🙉😂🙌😭

    You had really cool answers to all the questions! 🙌🎃🍁🍂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Gif-y Love
  6. Pingback: GIF-y Love #6

Leave a comment