Posted in Stories and Poems

Dear Idiot…

You’re the idiot,
The idiot who made me believe in love because of that post you wrote,
The idiot who made me feel less scared of the word “pagal”,
Because you used to call me that and I never minded anymore,
The idiot who pranked about your freaking death,
And now I’m forever scarred because I still think you’ve only got an year left.

You’re the idiot who managed to raise my self-esteem about what I write,
By praising everything I wrote, be it horrible.
You’re the idiot who made me lose one and a half hours of precious time before an exam,
‘Coz I was too busy freaking out about your body apparently rejecting a “bone marrow transplant”,
And yeah, I would never believe you if you say you’re dying again.

You’re the idiot who is my most annoying friend,
‘Coz you keep saying sorry when you’re unable to talk.
You’re the idiot whom I hate,
‘Coz you never picked up my calls just ‘coz you thought it’ll be weird.
You’re the idiot, the only one whose ever written a poem for me,
Do you know I’ve read it so many times now that I’ve practically got it memorized?

You’re one of those friends of mine that I am proud of,
For being able to get out of her negative thoughts last year,
The one person who still manages to see the good in the world.
Whatever’s bothering you, you’ll get out of it, you know it too.
I mean, you can’t stay sad for too long when you’ve got me now, can you?

So whatever this is, between us, I hope it’s forever.
I know I once wrote I’m scared about being tied to people,
But I’m not scared to imagine good things for our friendship.
We were each other’s support when our other friend once went away,
Now that she’s back, we’ve got lots more memories to make. The three of us.
And just so you know, you can’t be more pleased than I am,
For being the first one to write you a poem.

But if you prank your own death again,
Dude, I will make sure you are dead before the “one year” you’ve got left 🙂.


Dedicated to an idiot friend of mine, who apparently thinks it’s funny to pretend they have bone marrow disease and will die in an year 😑. I’m never forgiving her for that. Anyways, I hope you enjoyed the poem. And she did too. I’m cringing so bad right now even though I’m the one who wrote this.