Posted in Stories and Poems

It hurts…

You know why it hurts so much?

Because it was you who easily made me laugh when it was too hard even to smile. It was you who squeezed my hand to tell me that you were there with me when I needed you. It was you who pulled me close when I tried to push you away. It was you who smiled lovingly at me when I was too ashamed to even look at myself. It was you who was there with me through my darkest nights and my brightest days. It was you who made me realize that there may be a chance that I can be free of my burdens, by sharing them with you, that I can open up to you, that I don’t need to hide the real me anymore.

But when I did, it slowly took you away from me, like the petals of a flower in a slight breeze. Ever-so slowly. You didn’t realize that until you were too far away to come back. And when you did, it didn’t matter that much to you. But it did to me. For I had been let down in the worst way possible. I had been let down after giving a chance to love. After believing, for the first time. Only to be proven wrong.

And that’s why it hurts.

~Nehal


Yeah, I know, it isn’t that great. But well. Also, even though this is fiction, I don’t think my dad would approve of another sad story I wrote, so shh 🤫.